Martha's Vineyard License Plate

How It Works

Martha’s Vineyard Community Services (MVCS), which provides a host of safety net social services on the island, is sponsoring a Martha’s Vineyard specialty license plate campaign. The Registry of Motor Vehicles runs a program through which nonprofit organizations can raise money when drivers purchase specialty license plates.

Over 2,800 plates have been sold to date. In order for the plates to remain a specialty plate option at RMV branches across Massachusetts, 3,000 plates must be sold before August 2021. 

Martha's Vineyard Specialty plates are available for order through the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles website and at all full service Massachusetts RMV locations.

The initial registration fee set by the state is $40, of which $12 goes to cover the state's production cost of the plate and $28 returns to MVCS. Note that your $28 is a tax-deductible charitable donation! There is an additional one-time $20 swap fee charged by the state when applicants pick up their plate at their local RMV.

A renewal fee set by the State of Massachusetts will be due every two years. For future renewals, the entire renewal fee is a tax-deductible donation that will generate funds to support the services of MVCS and other Vineyard non-profits that benefit youth and elders. In keeping with the agency's community-minded spirit, MVCS has committed to donating 20% of net proceeds to other island non-profits that benefit youth and elders. 

What you should know:

    • You must have a valid driver's license to purchase a Martha's Vineyard specialty plate.
      • Anyone with a car registered in the state of Massachusetts may purchase the Martha's Vineyard specialty plate.
        • Each specialty license plate will cost $40, in addition to a $20 plate swap fee plus any applicable registration fees.
          • Motor vehicle registrations are renewed every two years in accordance with Massachusetts state law. When you renew your registration, you will be responsible for paying the applicable registration fee plus a $40 tax-deductible fee that will go directly to MVCS and other island non-profits that benefit youth and elderly.
            • If you are putting your plate on a newly acquired vehicle, you must pay applicable sales tax, title and registration fees at the time of registration.